Hindu Spiritual and Service Fair, Gurugram

Hindu Spiritual and Service Fair- Day 1

I wasn’t keen on going there. But I have a friend who talked about it with great fervour. I was intrigued. I decided to go there, even though i was tired.

I visited this fair with no expectations. I didn’t even know what I will see there. It had spiritual in its name – so I thought it will all be about Hindu dharma and human spirituality. But it wasn’t so. There were eigh
t big pandals with a bigger pandal. The four pandals on the left side were named Mata Shabri, Mittar Sudama, Swami Vivekanand and Swami i forgot the name. In these pandals, I counted some 200 NGOs and other stalls before I lost the count. I have always been bad with numbers. Now I am not good with these things. I decided to take a stroll anyhow. There were people at these stalls who were talking about their NGOs enthusiastically.  They seemed interested in their talk. I wasn’t. I felt really bad. They were clearly making an effort in speaking about their work. And all i did was fake a smile. I wonder if this is what people call ignorance. Also, there were girls at these stalls who were cute. I would’ve liked talking to them.

Also other than NGOs, there were the stalls of various Babas and Kumaris. There was also a vichaar TV. They had books. I wasn’t interested in any of them.

The right side had Iskcon, A painting exhibition, Ramkrishna mission pandal, a photo gallery and a live replica of a Pind – a setting where cows and things related to them was displayed. The photo gallery was the best thing about this place. They had various photographs at display. Variety was visible throughout. About the painting exhibition, I don’t think I am qualified enough to say anything about it. The iskcon pandal was small and honestly, much of it went over my head.

All and everything this fair had in name of spirituality were books and things related to cow. It’s like Hindu Dharma is all about these white bearded babas and holy cows. They are very wrong in this assumptions.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

